DIY Charcoal Peel off Mask

Okay, if you love face masks like I do, then I KNOW you’ve seen that “miracle” black mask that looks so painful to peel off.  You’re like “how could that NOT pull out these blackheads?!”.  At least that was my thought process. So the mask I saw a video of ( I don’t remember the name now) I found online and it cost around $70USD, I’m all for paying more for products that work, but not when I haven’t sampled them or anything, so that was a little steep for my budget.  So I looked on Pinterest for a DIY charcoal mask… Pinterest never disappoints, even if my attempts fail.

So the easiest DIY I found, was Elmer’s Glue and the powder from activated charcoal capsules. I found my charcoal caps in the isle for gas relief at CVS. I don’t remember how much they were but I want to say like $10? I still have some too, so they last a while too. Elmer’s Glue is of course in the crafts/supplies isle. I bought extra strength original glue and it works the best in my opinion. For the mask, all you do is mix some of the glue with about 1-3 caps of the activated charcoal depending how much of your face you want to cover (until it’s a paste). I applied mine with the spoon I mixed it with, but the video I found used a brush to ‘paint’ it on your face but I didn’t have a paint brush. Also be sure to avoid eyebrows/any hair you don’t want removed. The mask is extremely strong. If you get some in your hair or eyebrows, just take hot water over it before it starts to dry and it’ll come off without removing hair 🙂 *** BE CAREFUL WITH THE CHARCOAL! IT WILL STAIN CLOTHES! *** The paste is really cold, so if there was a way to warm it up some to open your pores, I bet it would work even better, but I’m not sure what would work for that.

supplies needed

Once you have a paste, apply it all over your face or to the area you want. Make sure to connect all of the paste so that it is easier to peel. It dries fairly quick, but you have to be sure not to move the mask or it cracks. You’ll be able to feel once it’s dry and hard/smooth to touch. I’d say it probably took like 10 minutes for my whole face to dry. Once the mask you can begin to peel it off. I think it’s easier to start at the bottom but as long as you are pulling up/out on the mask, I don’t think it would make a huge difference. Most of the mask comes off in one piece or at least a few big pieces but there might be some small spots that you’ll have to wash off with hot water.

Pieces peeled off

Given that this is a DIY and not the $70 mask, I’m sure the homemade mask lacks obvious benefits. However, when I removed my mask, I’ve always been able to see some of the dirt/blackheads it has pulled out. It also leaves my skin feeling super soft and smooth. I could only imagine how the real mask works, but I don’t think I can convince myself to spend $70 on one product… I only use this mask a couple times a month due to it being SO strong, but I have no basis to stop you from using it as much as you’d like. Give it a try if you’re curious like I was! 🙂

Wet Mask
Mask drying
 

Peeling the mask off
Another view of the peel off mask
 

-Meg

Leave a Reply

